Problematic Islamic Clothing Sites

better-business-bureau-torch_wzy5

Dear sisters, if you have issues with an Islamic clothing site located in North America please contact the Better Business Bureau. Don’t just let it go! Problematic sites like Essence of Black need to be reported so that you can spare the next person, insha’allah. I started going on there to look up sites I’ve never ordered from before and was appalled by some the poor ratings I saw. Wow.

The other thing I advise you to do is to follow up when you’re contacted by the BBB. I was disappointed to see how many people didn’t follow up on their complaints. I know we’re all busy but it’s important.

8 responses to “Problematic Islamic Clothing Sites

  1. As salamu alaykum sister.

    What a good idea. I haven’t bought anything online but when I do I’ll be ready to report. Someone reported a site on ripoffreport.com, I forgot what hijab site it was. Anyway do you mind sharing with me what site you found ratings on? You can email it to me in case I don’t have time to look back, jazak’Allah khaire.

  2. Walaikum salaam,

    I can’t remember all of them but I saw Essence of Black on there and Hijabs-R-Us. You should go on the site and put in one of the stores. I also saw good stuff there too.

  3. Assalamu Alaikum Dear Sisters,

    I am from the UK and ordered and paid for two items from Essence of Black and never received my items. I sent numerous e-mail messages, and never received any replys, and no deliveries. Please be aware of this site.

    Walaikum Assalaam

  4. This is a good idea, I’m going to check out that site. Also, what about international companies? I am having a frustrating time with a company based in Canada.

  5. Wow, I was just planning on ordering from Essence of Black. They have some great sales going on. So what is the problem exactly? I see far too much in the Islamic world of just letting people rip you off and saying “they’re Muslim, it’s okay. Maybe they needed it. It’s charity.” Theft, lies, con artists do not = charity. Stand up for yourselves. Please, a whole website needs to be dedicated to this type of thing. There’s so many bad stores out there.

  6. “Wow, I was just planning on ordering from Essence of Black. They have some great sales going on. So what is the problem exactly? I see far too much in the Islamic world of just letting people rip you off and saying “they’re Muslim, it’s okay. Maybe they needed it. It’s charity.” Theft, lies, con artists do not = charity. Stand up for yourselves. Please, a whole website needs to be dedicated to this type of thing. There’s so many bad stores out there.”

    Sister, from what I read, there are many other sisters being scammed by them. If you want to know what it is exactly, I can tell you they treat their customers horribly. Some are lack of email replies, customer service, no answering phones, bad sewing job, prices change in the site when you’re about to checkout, stolen images from other Islamic clothing sites like Shukr yet they claim to use copyright infringement with another sister, they give wrong sizes and wrong colors, and advertise things they can never give.

    What hit me the most was, one sister posted how the man (of essenceofblack) told her that “$40 is not worth going to hellfire for so don’t fool yourself!” I thought that was very rude and unprofessional.

  7. salamu alykom sis. me and my friend just bought 4 abayas from essence of black with my friend’s visa. they took the money but no confirmation mail was sent. and they took more money than they were supposed to take. we tried to contact them but all we got was a rude reply. we are still waiting to see if our things are going to come or not. insha’allah they will come. pls take care from this site. may Allah bless u all.

Leave a Reply

