If I weren’t Muslim…

Admit it. You’ve also seen outfits or thought to yourself, if I weren’t Muslim I’d wear that. Here is one such outfit (and hairstyle) for me:

If I wasn't Muslim 2
If I wasn't Muslim 2 - by Jamerican Muslimah on Polyvore.com

8 responses to “If I weren’t Muslim…

  1. If I weren’t a Muslim, I personally would not dress much differently than I do now as a Muslim woman. I would never left my legs uncovered above the ankle, no matter in front of mahram or non-mahram, male or female, or even completely alone, because I simply don’t feel comfortable with that. And hijab is my second nature; I feel naked without my hijab. I wear it even when I’m alone at home, except when I’m in my bedroom where no-one except my husband can come in… But before I became a Muslim, I already used to wear long skirts and pants, long gowns and maxi dresses, not revealing. I also didn’t like tight clothing. I felt not only naked in tight clothes, but more, I was thinking: it limits my movement and I can’t breathe in it, I hate it, I need to wear really loose and simple clothing, specially at home, as I move a lot around the house, or when I go out – in purpose of covering me the way I want… I love modesty when it comes to dress and I never liked to expose myself to anyone’s eyes and to be viewed as commodity for sale… You know what I mean?

    But, you are forgetting that you can still wear the clothes you like while being a Muslim – at home for yourself, your husband, your family and female friends, woman-only gatherings etc. – you can wear any kind of clothing, not necessarily hijabified, with only one condition: it must cover you from chest to the knees (including knees, of course). And there is really no rule that would stop you from dressing that way in a certain situation, in Islam. The situation when non-mahram males are not present and not even likely to come suddenly, when you feel free to dress that way…

    Salam

  2. Aisha, I think it’s great that there wouldn’t be much difference between your dress now and if you weren’t Muslim. Alhamdulillah.

    Clearly, I cannot not say the same. I come from a “show it off”, flaunt it” kind of culture and I cannot deny that I still have elements of that in me. When I wasn’t Muslim I had no problem wearing clothing that was a little snug or short. So, we come from different experiences.

    Yes, you’re right, I could wear some of the pictured clothing at home. I’d only buy them if they were on sale though. I think it’d get rather expensive trying to buy two sets of clothing- indoor and outdoor. I usually hit up the short shorts, tanks and all at the end of summer. Maybe I should do the same for the skirts etc. I want my husband to come home and be like “WOW!”

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I love the blouse and the color of it. Very cute. Now, if I was not a Muslim??? Hmmmm…what can I say. I don’t know a Muslim sister that does not miss the sun in her hair and on her body myself included. I also miss the ocean and swimming. I miss many, many things. But still, I would not give up the hijab.

  4. I feel bad when I think that… thats why I buy whatever I want (skimpy or not) and just adjust it to suit the muslim standard.. or just wear it out to a “ladies” night or Muslimah party… ❤

  5. Congratulations on being able to respond to that kind of criticism nicely. I write for a couple of blogs and would just about have blown a gasket at comments that I’m “forgetting” what I can and can’t do with fashion.

    I can totally appreciate where you are coming from, hon. Heck, sometimes I’ll see a picture of a bikini-clad bimbo and think “Goodness, if I had a body like that, I’d be on the beach in Brazil every day of the week and twice on Sunday!” It happens. Good for you for discussing it.

  6. Salaam and Happy New Year everybody! 🙂
    I have to say that before I discovered the hijabi blogging community I was about ready to weep. Literally. I inherited Islam from my parents, but at first didn’t want to be cloned and easily identifiable as Muslim… you do have to find yourself and pre-hijab I was very matchy-matchy and a bit obsessed with finding my style. It’s so much a part of your identity after all.

    So last Ramadan ended, and I made my resolution because I wanted to be taken seriously as an academic and I had been messed around by certain people… and I decided that I was worth more than that. I defined me, and I defined how I was treated and it was my right by the hadith.

    I wasn’t ever very revealing anyway, and I did always have a shayla on, but not always on my head/loose wrap. The sad thing was I felt very judged if ever I passed some Arab sisters in hijab. I didn’t envy their clique, but I really wanted to say salaam to them only I immediately felt like I was being judged which was sad. I was trying to find my deen, but I was afraid. I had to take it one day at a time and one quote from a brother really inspired me: “A woman in hijab is a walking hadith.”

    Now I love the fact that I’m human and not objectified. I can be on my way to Uni and say salaam to any sister, or just smile. I also re-found my style and saw how creative everybody was. But the one thing I REALLY miss… so silly, but, opaque tights! I have lovely chiffon dresses (one the same colour as the above top) but they only go to the knee, so I would always wear opaques as a sort of “halfway house” of covering. I also miss showing off my extensive earrings collection, lol. Don’t really miss anything else. I’m lucky to have a very fenced off garden so I can sit in the sun and not be overlooked. Thanks for letting me ramble… x

Leave a Reply

